7 Foods You Never Knew WEREN’T Vegan

7 Foods You Never Knew WEREN’T Vegan

Wine 

Would you believe it to make wine animal products can be used? Such as gelatin, egg and milk proteins. Before you go into panic overloads, there are lots of vegan bottles on the market!

Chewing gum

Would you believe it? Some chewing gum brands use gelatin. Always check the label on your favourite stick of gum!

Pesto

Traditionally Pesto is usually made with Parmesan cheese, always look for a Vegetarian symbol on the jar for the veggie-friendly option.

Refried beans

In most traditional Mexican restaurants they make their refried beans with lard. If you are buying tin from your local supermarket, just make sure to check the label!

Soft drinks

Coca Cola states, ‘a few of our drinks contain small traces of fish gelatine, which is used as a stabiliser for the beta-carotene colour.’ These products are Lilt, Lilt Zero, Kia-Ora Orange Squash No Added Sugar and Schweppes Orange Squash.

Bananas

Non-organic bananas may have been sprayed with Chitosan, which is made from shrimp and crab shells to help preserve bananas from over-ripening. Always buy free-trade organic bananas just to be safe!

Worcestershire sauce

Who knew anchovies give Worcestershire sauce it’s unique savoury flavour. Don’t worry about giving up your favourite flavour of walkers crisps though, they’re completely vegan!

Leave a Reply